FootballLocal News

Bruce Mwape snubbed 

…as Kundananji, Banda and Chanda are named for the CAF Womens Player of the year award

…as Kundananji, Banda and Chanda are named for the CAF Womens Player of the year award


THE Confederations of African Football (CAF) has finally unveiled the nominations for the 2023 CAF Women’s awards slated for Marrakech in Morocco next month.

Unfortunately, Zambia National Women’s team coach Bruce Mwape has been snubbed on the shortlisted candidates for the Coach of the Year award.

Meanwhile, Copper Queens attacking trio of Racheal Kundananji, Barbra Banda and Grace Chanda have made the cut for the 2030 Women’s player of the year award.

Goalkeeper Catherine Musonda has also been nominated for the Goalkeeper of the Year in the women’s category while the Copper Queens have also been nominated for the CAF National Team of the Year Award alongside Burkina Faso, Burundi, Ghana, Malawi and Morocco.

Mwape, whose appearance at the World Cup with the Copper Queens was marred with sexual harassment allegations couldn’t make it on the initial nomination list that is composed of 10 candidates.

The Coach of the Year category has Malawi national team coach Lovemore Fazili who guided Malawi to winning the COSAFA Championship this year beating defending champions Zambia in the final played in South Africa.

Fazili will compete with Nigeria women’s team coach Randy Waldrum, Morocco’s Reynald Pedros and Desiree Ellis, coach of Banyana Banyana.

Others shortlisted for the Coach of the Year award are Senegal’s Moussa Cisse, Mamelodi Sundowns Jerry Tshabalala, AS FAR FC coach Mohamed Amine Alioua and Nana Joe Adarkwa and Esther Chamruma of Apmem Darkoa FC and JKT Queens respectively.

On the shortlisted candidates for the player of the year award, Kundananji, Barbra Banda and Grace Chanda will compete with Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie Christie Ucheibe, Osinachi Ohale, Rasheedat Ajibade and Uchenna Kanu for the individual recognition.

Malawi has the Chawinga sisters Tabitha and Temwa while South Africa has the second largest number of players nominated for the prestigious award.

Goal keeper, Andile Dlamini, Hilda Magaia, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Linda Motlhalo, Refiloe Jane and Thembi Kgatlana have all been shortlisted while Morocco has Anisha Lahmari, Fatima Tagnaout, Ghizlane Chebbak, Ibtissam Jhaidi and Khadija Er-Rmichi.

Zenatha Coleman from Namibia, Afisabine Woedikou from Togo, Uganda’s Fazila Ikwaput, Senegal’s Ndeye Awa Diakhate and Cameroon Ajara Nchout Njaya and Ghana’s Evely Badu complete the top 30 list.

The CAF Awards 2023 gala will be held on December 11 in Marrakech, where the young player of the year and the club of the year will also be unveiled.


Related Articles

Back to top button